weekend wrap up

We just got back from a busy weekend in Atlanta.  We officiated my love’s cousin’s wedding and spent lots of time with his family.  It was a fun time, and as I recall some things – this post will look like several posts all in one, and it will be long.

Random Things

  • We saw gas for $1.78 – unbelievable
  • When we got our robes on and got ready to process, my love’s couin’s kid – age 8 – looked at us and said, “What are you supposed to be?  You’re dressed weird”
  • The DJ asked for our card because brides often book him before they’ve found an officiant and ask if he knows anyone.  That’s just funny to me.

Insult to Injury

While we were in Atlanta with grammy, pops took a crew down to FL for the USC game.  It was the most pitiful excuse for a game I’ve ever seen.  The bride and groom were also USC fans and had worked some fun elements into the wedding/reception.  The bridesmaids dresses were garnet.  The flowers were garnet.  The grooms cake was Williams-Brice Stadium.  The couple walked into the reception to 2001.  As they cut the groom’s cake, the USC fight song was played.  Each time there was another reminder of the pitifulness at the reception, you could just see half the crowd lower their heads.  I wonder if the couple had known what the outcome of the day’s game would have been if they would have left out the USC elements.

Easily Amused

Now we know that it doesn’t really matter what we do when we go on vacation, as long as we stay in a hotel.  Piglet loved hanging out in the lobby, walking down the long halls, and playing with the luggage carts – she could just keep going and going – pushing them, riding them, crawling on them.

taylor-179

Weepy Moments

I didn’t really cry at our wedding.  But I teared up several times on Saturday.  First, as we are about to start the ceremony – I look over at the mother of the groom who is tearing up and I start to follow.  I had to get myself together because I had to lead the service, and I can’t very well speak while crying.  Then the father-daughter dance got us.  The song was so perfect, and now that we have a little girl who may get married one day, we just couldn’t hold back the tears.  The words were:

Look at the two of you dancing that way
Lost in the moment and each others face
So much in love you’re alone in this place
Like there’s nobody else in the world
I was enough for her not long ago
I was her number one
She told me so
And she still means the world to me
Just so you know
So be careful when you hold my girl
Time changes everything
Life must go on
And I’m not gonna stand in your way

But I loved her first and I held her first
And a place in my heart will always be hers
From the first breath she breathed
When she first smiled at me
I knew the love of a father runs deep
And I prayed that she’d find you someday
But it’s still hard to give her away
I loved her first

How could that beautiful woman with you
Be the same freckle face kid that I knew
The one that I read all those fairy tales to
And tucked into bed all those nights
And I knew the first time I saw you with her
It was only a matter of time

But I loved her first and I held her first
And a place in my heart will always be hers
From the first breath she breathed
When she first smiled at me
I knew the love of a father runs deep
And I prayed that she’d find you someday
But it’s still hard to give her away
I loved her first

From the first breath she breathed
When she first smiled at me
I knew the love of a father runs deep
Someday you might know what I’m going through
When a miracle smiles up at you
I loved her first

Then as they started the mother-son dance, we lost it again.  It was my love’s aunt (his mother’s sister) dancing with her son on his wedding day – a moment that my love did not get to share with his mother. 

In Sickness and in Health

As if that weren’t enough crying, I cried as I gained new perspective for wedding vows.  Officiating a wedding is so cool.  You get a totally different view, physically and in perspective.  I paid more attention to the vows on Saturday than I did five years ago – marriage is some serious stuff, not to be taken lightly.  I sat at the reception watching my love’s aunt and uncle (not the groom’s parents) interact after 42 years of marriage.  His uncle had a stroke while having heart surgery and now has lost the use of half of his body and cannot communicate like his wants to.  But his wife selflessly cares for him (even though she is still battling breast cancer), helping him get ready, helping him go to the bathroom, getting his food, etc, etc.  And when we first arrived, she said, “Doesn’t he look sharp in his suit?”  The love and dedication amaze me.  And it took me back to my grandparents.  My granddaddy (mom’s dad) and mama (dad’s mom) both had strokes as well.  They passed away when I was young, so I never really understood how that affected their lives.  I look back, and I know that their spouses cared for them the way my love’s aunt cares for his uncle.  All of these people took their marriage vows very seriously – in sickness and in health.  It really is beautiful.  We are so blessed to have so many amazing role models when it comes to love and marriage.  I just hope that we can always be that faithful to our vows.

One Response

  1. I wish i had some great intelligent response to this emotion-filled post, but instead i have to gloat a little. the band (heartland) that sang that song ( i loved her first) is from huntsville and went to my high school. the lead singer is jason albert and is a few years older than me, but i was friends with his younger brother so i met him through him…and, wait for it….I KISSED HIM!! yep, that’s right. i kissed the lead singer of a semi-famous band. i’m cool.

Leave a Reply

