4:00 am is not my favorite time of day

We have been having sleep issues again in our house.   Piglet was doing so well until she got sick at Thanksgiving.  And now, she doesn’t wake up in the middle of the night, but she’s up at 4:00 am.  We even tried keeping her up later last night, but she still woke up at 4:00.  She’s still tired, but takes a while to settle down enough to go back to sleep, and then she’ll only sleep in my arms – this has been the case for the last 5 mornings.  I am hoping that I have figured out the cause.

Over thanksgiving break and into Monday and Tuesday of last week, we were together all the time.  Then on Wednesday, I had to go back to work and work long hours to make up for missing Monday and Tuesday (since I was preaching and in charge of the Advent Festival – whose idea was it to have both of those things on the same day?!)  Anyway, lots of work to do – I even worked all day Friday and Saturday, my usual days off…then of course I worked ALLLLLL  day Sunday.  

I noticed this morning that whenever I was holding her, she would settle down and go to sleep, but if I tried to put her down in the crib, or even next to me in my bed, she would wake up with a start.  I started thinking that maybe she just needed to be with me…GUILT. HEARTACHE. 

So today we hung out a lot.  We had the wee mornings hours of 4:00 am – 7:30 am to bond.  Then she came with me to the Educator Brunch at the Presbytery Office this morning and the Christian Education Committee Meeting tonight, and I only worked at the church for 4 hours.   I’m hoping that this will make a difference.  Hopefully she won’t need the wee morning hours for mother-daughter time tomorrow.

Send good long sleepy sleepy vibes our way.

Leave a Reply

