Dinner

My mom cooked dinner almost every night when I was growing up.  I never really appreciated how much time that took.  Now I do.  She was amazing.

Today, I made a menu for the week, made a grocery list, gathered coupons, went to the grocery store, bought eggplant and cottage cheese for the first time, saved $24, spent $150, and cooked a healthy homemade dinner with lots of leftovers for nthe weekend (technically Russ did most of the cooking while I occupied Piglet who wanted to climb the oven and watch everything that was happening). 

It was fun, and I feel good about saving money and eating healthier, but man it takes a lot of time.  Especially since Russ is uber-picky about dinner foods.  We can’t have “regulars” – he always wants to try new things (that have cheese in them), but that takes more time.  I guess it’s good to try new things, but I like comfort foods – all those foods I remember eating growing up.  But those foods have no cheese since my dad is allergic, and as mentioned before Russ have to have cheese in all dishes.

And for tomorrow’s task – making a big batch of chili soup to freeze for fast dinners later and using the crock pot to cook a Boston butt. 

Watch out Martha, Paula, and Rachel.

 

 

5 Responses

  1. Good job! Cooking supper IS hard. Once JC started eating real food, it was pretty much a given that I’d have to cook each night. Footing the bill for two kids and two adults was breaking us. It’s finally become a routine – including a regular pizza night (my fave – Papa Johns has a whole wheat crust!) I used to do this blog thing called “Menu Plan Monday”, but just like all-things-blogging, I don’t have time. I will say that it gave me a lot of good supper ideas. I’m proud of you!!

    Oh, and P.S. I have two – count ’em TWO boston butts in the freezer – they were on sale for 99 cents a pound at the Pig – BOOYAH!! 🙂

  2. Here’s the link to the blog with Menu Plan Monday – if you scroll down there’s a section with a bazillion links to other menu plans.

    http://orgjunkie.com/

  3. I’m really flattered you put me in there with Paula Deen and Martha Stewart, but you should know I can’t cook for shit.

    Oh, you meant the OTHER Ra…oh nevermind.

  4. Cooking for 2 is not as much fun as cooking for a family…although I did it every night before children ….

  5. Yay Roommate!

Leave a Reply

