At Last

At last, my love has come along
My lonely days are over
And life is like a song

This is a popular “First Dance” song at weddings.  Russ and I did not dance to this one, but it is now one of my favorites.  As a wedding favor, some friends of ours handed out mixed CDs – it has the best mix of classic and southern rock, country, shag, and romantic.  The first song on the CD is At Last by Etta James.  Piglet loves this song.  We dance to it a lot.  I have fond memories of dancing with a much smaller Piglet as she drifted off to sleep (rare but precious occassions).  The CD is always in our CD player, and she has figured out how to turn it on and make it sing.  She starts to twirl around the room and bobb her head. 

Oh, yeah, at last
The skies above are blue
My heart was wrapped up in clovers

Things have been rough lately for a variety of reasons, but tonight was one of those times when I was really happy and content.  Piglet and I came home from church and got ready to go on a walk – it was a beautiful day.  Russ followed soon after for a run.   Piglet was chatting away to herself and waving to the ducks, dogs, and kids that we passed.  Every once in a while, she’d look up at me and smile.  When Russ caught up to us, he somehow convinced me to run with him for the rest of the way – only 200 yards, but I did it – even though I thought I might die.

We came inside and started getting dinner ready.  While I was finishing up the prep work, I heard At Last come on.  Russ was already in the living room with Piglet.  Piglet came into the kitchen, grabbed my hand, and pulled me into the living room.  I picked her up and the three of us danced.

The night I looked at you
I found a dream that I could speak to
A dream that I can call my own
I found a thrill to rest my cheek to
A thrill that I have never known

 As I listened to the words of this love song, I thought it applied so well to my love for Piglet as we danced cheek to cheek.  I remembered the night I first saw her after years of dreaming of her.  As I swayed, all sentimental and mushy inside, she looked at me and smiled. 

Oh, yeah when you smile, you smile
Oh, and then the spell was cast
And here we are in heaven
For you are mine at last

She is mine and I am hers.   At last.

 

2 Responses

  1. OK, you made me cry again.

  2. Was it your goal to make people cry? You got me too!

Leave a Reply

