lighter side

So after two heavy posts, I thought I’d share the lighter side of parenting my Piglet at 22 months – and for me to brag on my kid a bit to help me remind myself that she’s a good kid, and we are not failures as parents.

  • Like her mother, Piglet is a fan of lists.  She sits in her car seat and lists family members, animals, toys, etc.
  • She has a huge sweet tooth – she LOVES of cookies and ice cream.
  • She is doing great in her big girl bed.  I only wish she would sleep with the door open so she could just come out when she woke up in the morning.  But if I leave it cracked while we’re reading books, she says “close door” and I have to get up to close it.  And if I try to trick her and leave it cracked when I leave, we hear the door shut a few seconds later.
  • She’s learned which books are longer and picks those to read at bedtime to stall the process.  She’s a big fan of Go, Dog, Go and Hop on Pop.
  • She has A LOT of energy.  On the second day of “bite patrol” our shadow said, “she definitely has more energy than any of the other kids”.  She runs everywhere she goes…except when I’m in a hurry, then she like to take her time, of course.
  • She’s like a scratched record when she counts.  1, 2, 3, 2, 3, 2, 3, 2, 3…until we interject with a 4, then she can count all the way to 10…and when she gets to 10, she puts her arms up and says it with “tada” flair.
  • She also uses “tada” flair when we sing the alphabet song and get to the “sing with ME” at the end.  I guess she likes a big finish.  When she wants us to sing the song, she says  “Now my Cs”
  • When she wants us to sing “Itsy Bitsy Spider” she says “Itsy Bitsy SUN”  again with that “tada” flair – I see broadway in her future.
  • She’s a huge fan of puzzles.  Grammy got her a box of four 4-piece puzzles of animals a few weeks ago, and making the pieces fit together was quite the challenge at first, but then one day last week, I came in the playroom and she had gotten the box off the shelf and put all four puzzles together by herself.  It’s her favorite thing to do now.
  • She knows all of her letters, colors, animals, numbers, and shapes (though she doesn’t know the letters and numbers in order yet).   She knows things that we have no idea how she knows.  We were shopping on Sunday at a furniture store and there was a GIANT dinosaur near the kids furniture section, and she pointed and yelled out “dinosaur” – we still don’t know where that came from.
  • She also knows the names of all of the tools.  We were walking around a Black and Decker on Sunday, and she named the hammer, tape measure, screw brush (more commonly known as a screw driver), circular saw, and table saw.   I think she may have spent too much time with daddy this summer…or maybe daddy just spent too much time at Home Depot.

But the best thing was Friday night, when I was feeling pretty defeated.   After her bath, she was asking for me to brush her teeth.  I came into the bathroom, and she leaned over for me to hold her, she squeezed my neck and put her head on my shoulder, then she held on for a good 2-3 minutes.  It was the best, most-needed, longest active toddler hug ever.  So I cried a little.  I love that kid.

One Response

  1. I also think she is a wonderful, bright, funny and sweet child….and I’m not just saying that because I’m her grammy;-)

Leave a Reply

