if you booze it, do you loose it?

I was listening to the radio last Friday morning…to a show that normally has pointless/mindless babble about celebrity gossip and such, but that morning they were doing a piece on the statewide crackdown on drunk driving.  One of the hosts was drinking a bottle of wine and getting tested by a police officer in the studio to see if she would pass the “drunk tests” they give when they pull someone over to prove how little you have to drink to fail one of their tests.

It was an interesting segment.   Two of the facts they shared surprised me (one more than the other)…1)  Half of fatal traffic accidents are alcohol related.  2)  SC is second in the nation for alcohol-related accidents (that’s second worst).

That’s crazy – I really don’t understand why people get behind the wheel of their car when they’ve had too much to drink.   But I guess most people don’t know how much is too much.  One woman called in and talked about how her husband was killed because he was a drunk driver, coming home from a football game.  He was a good dad,  little league baseball coach, good guy, hard worker, and misjudged how much was too much.   She said that she now never drinks anything if she is going to be driving.  She says it’s mainly for her kids – she can tell them not to drink and drive, but what does it say when she has a glass of wine at dinner and then drives them home? I had never thought about that.   How do you teach your kids about limits?  How can you tell them it’s not safe to drink and drive and then do just that, even if you know you are not even buzzed, what does that look like?

Granted I remember being a little worried when my dad would drink coffee in the car, thinking it was the act of drinking that would distract him from being able to drive.  Don’t get me started on EATING and driving – surely, that can’t be safe – it’s funny how kids’ minds work.

But all of this takes me back to my 8th grade science fair project, “If you booze it, do you loose it?”  and yes, I spelled it that way on my project until my 4th grade sister caught the spelling error that my parents and I missed.  I think if every kid did a science fair project like that, you wouldn’t have this problem.

I used my parents and my aunt and uncle as the test subjects.  At Thanksgiving, we did the experiment before we ate.  At Christmas, we did it after we ate to see how food affects alcohol consumption.  My test subjects would drink and take my reaction time test after each can of beer.  It was the coolest science fair project ever.

I remember my mom completely failing my “reaction time test” after three drinks.  and she had lots of trouble putting dip on her cracker.  It was pretty funny.  But it always stuck with me – how my genes don’t serve me well when it comes to drinking.  And how if your reaction time is affected, you should not get behind the wheel of a car.

But how do you really get that point across?  I am dumbstruck by the commercials for the statewide crackdown on drunk driving that have actual statements made by SC drivers.  “I drive drunk because you’re not supposed to.”  “I’d rather drive drunk than let someone else drive my car.”  “It takes guts to drink and drive, man, take the risk.”  “Just give me some water and fresh air, and I’m fine to drive drunk.”

REALLY?!  But then I remember a friend of mine in high school tell me that he would drive when he was high because he felt more aware or his surroundings and his senses were sharper.  REALLY?!

Because as my 8th grade science fair project proved if you booze it, you will lose it.

One Response

  1. I think I actually failed after one drink…

Leave a Reply

