I’m ba-ack

Thanks for the phone calls, e-mails, and facebook messages asking where the blog went – that means a lot.  Thanks for missing me.  I have missed blogging – it’s strange how something like this can become such a big part of your life.  I would experience something last week and think – “Ooo, I need to blog about that!” but then I didn’t because I was trying to take a break and try to figure out what this blog thing was anyway.

I took it down to give myself a break.   Something that I wrote that was flippant, half sarcastic,  in passing, and not meant in a negative way toward anyone was read as negative, and there were consequences.   I have apologized, and we have moved on.  But this wasn’t the first time or the second.  third it was.  I have never intended to be critical of any person, but of situations and circumstances.  And I am pretty sure that I have spent more time on my own shortcomings than those of those situations or circumstances. (am I being vague enough for you?)

I am still trying to figure out how to blog as a pastor.  How to be real and honest and integrilicious, but also be respectful and supportive of the church that I love, but that can also be frustrating at times.   It’s a difficult balance to find in a world where sinful pastors serve churches with sinful people.  God is perfect, but the church is far from it.  I wish I could find a way to reflect with integrity and in a way that is  productive,  but also in a way that doesn’t end my career.

I thought about just not blogging about anything having to do with the church at all, but the church consumes 75-100% of my waking hours, depending on the week.  That’s too big a part of my life to not have anything to say about it.  I love being a mom, and Piglet provides a tremendous amount of material – in her cuteness and in her ability to drive me nuts (as does her dad), but  sometimes I need to reflect on that other part of my life.

I feel like a need a disclaimer at the beginning of every post:  “The views expressed in this post are solely those of the writer and not affiliated with DPC or the PC(USA).   The writer is sarcastic and flippant.  She writes in a stream of consciousness sort of way that is not always completely thought out or closely edited.  She is emotional and stressed out.  Take it all with a grain of salt.  K?  Thx. Bye.  PS:  Blogging is a conversation.  If you disagree or have other issues with what she says or how she says it, please add a comment so we all can have a dialogue.  She is thick-skinned and open -minded (most of the time).  She will probably only cry a little.”

6 Responses

  1. I’m glad you’re back. This is one of the highlights of my day…sometimes it makes me laugh, sometimes it makes me think, and yes, sometimes it makes me cry…but in a good way:-)

  2. Welcome Back. I missed knowing what your days are like! Love you!
    -Roommate

  3. yay! you’re back! i’ve been checking everyday 🙂 i’m sorry you have had some issues with your blog. anyway, i LOVE reading your blog. and not just because you are my friend and i miss living next door to you. and not just because i am a lonely stay at home mom and have no life and therefore must live vicariously through other people. ok, those are big reasons 🙂 BUT ALSO because i respect you as a person, mom, and pastor. and because you are real when you write. pastors have extremely stressful jobs. they give all day long to other people. and when you do that you can be left emotionally drained. everyone needs an outlet for there emotions and pastors are no exception.

    blog on!

  4. Glad the blog is back as well. Good thing I don’t have a blog. Agree with the comment about it being a dialogue. If you disagree with something, point it out…say it. Just another one of the many generational issues/differences that exist in the church, I guess. It will be interesting to see how technology continues to influence ministry.

  5. I know you don’t know me, but I read your blog through my friend, Reid’s blog. I think that was a really confusing run-on sentence. Anyway, I really enjoy your blogs. My son is 3 and we live in Brussels like Reid. I miss going to work everyday ( I was a teacher before I became an expat stay at home mom), and enjoy reading about the ups and downs of your life. Keep writing!

  6. So just caught up on your blog. You describe yourself as “sarcastic and flippant.” Which seems fine except, I am not sure where that leaves me: supercalifragsarcastic?

Leave a Reply

