reading the signs

So, you know things have been crazy here in our house with med school and exams and Advent and Christmas and a new niece.   Around the middle of November, I was so very tired all the time.  I determined it was the crazy life we lead and the fact that Piglet began waking up at 4:30 EVERY. MORNING.  Russ would worry about me because I would fall asleep on the couch at 7:15 and still be tired the next day.  He would tell me daily:  Something’s wrong with you; you need to go to the doctor.

The whole week after Thanksgiving, I was sick to my stomach.  I couldn’t really eat anything.  Every night, I would lie on the couch after dinner and moan until I fell asleep at 7:15.  Russ would tell me daily:  Something’s wrong with you; you need to go to the doctor.  (Um…dude, why are we racking up student loans if you can’t even help your wife?)

Then we had our date night the first Friday in December.  While at dinner, Russ said, “You want to get a drink”  I said, “I don’t think that would be a good idea…I think I might be pregnant.”  (word of advice for you – if getting pregnant is not on your radar, best not to lead with that line on your first date night in months).  Russ couldn’t really think/talk about anything else the rest of the night.  At the movie, he was convinced I was because there was a pregnant woman on either side of us.  It was a sign.

But I took the test.  NEGATIVE.  sadness.  relief.   more sadness.

So, then we determined that something was wrong with me and I needed to go to the doctor because I was still really tired and moderately sick to my stomach.

But what minister has time for doctor’s visits during Advent?  So I waited.

But then I started buying Coco Puffs and wanting them and Lucky Charms for breakfast.   And wanting PB&J for lunch.   Wait – I haven’t craved those things in three years.

So I took another test.  It took 2.5 seconds to form two bold pink lines.  OMG.  I left the test on the counter.  Russ slept on the couch.  I went into get Piglet since it was 4:30 and she was ready to start the day.  As we came out of her room, Russ stood in the doorway with a big groggy OMG face on.  Oops.  I didn’t plan on him having to pee at that very moment.  Oh well, now he knows.

And so do you.   We will have a family of four on July 28ish.  Yay!

And now you know why I haven’t blogged.  Because I couldn’t write anything that didn’t relate to this.

11 Responses

  1. Congrats! I am so excited for you!

  2. Congrats to all of you!

  3. OMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMG!!!!! CONGRATS! i’m sooooo excited for……wait a minute. you will be like 7 months pregnant at the end of may. crap. ok, no big deal. we will all just come to your house for vacation! 😉 wouldn’t be a seminary vacation without someone being pregnant! 🙂 patrick says he will pay for all your beer on vacation…hee hee..

    CONGRATS!!!!

  4. HOORAY!!! Congrats to you guys!!!! May this bring you a whole summer free of retreats, trips, and sleeping in a PC dorm (it certainly did for me in 2008!) — so happy for you guys!!

  5. SOOOOOOOOOOOOO excited for you guys!!!! That is awesome!!!! =)

  6. Congratulations!!!! I am so excited for you guys, you are going to love being a family of 4. Hope to see you soon!

  7. Yippee Skippee! So happy for y’all!!! This is super news! Hope you get to feeling better soon! So how long have you known???

  8. great news! so excited for y’all!

  9. yeah dorothy! what wonderful, wonderful news. congrats! hope you feel better. treasure these last months as a family of 3 and anticipating that wonderful 4th!

  10. hurray!!!!!
    i am so happy and loved reading your post…how are you doing?! i love you and am so excited!

  11. so super excited for you guys, as if you didn’t have enough on your plates right now, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

