nesting

I think I have taken nesting to a whole new level.  or maybe I’m just insane, I’ll just say it’s unfair to give a gal with OCD (or OPD – Russ has diagnosed me with Obsessive Personality Disorder rather than OCD) the pregnancy induced nesting drive.

The house is relatively clean and organized (at least what I can control – I try my hardest to ignore the office and pretend it’s not there because that is Russ’ space and he gets really mad when I throw out important medical notes or move his stethoscope).  So I have moved onto the church.

Last week, I cleaned the youth rooms.  I took 20 NASTY GERM RIDDEN FLEA BITTEN 30 YEAR OLD giant pillows (yes, they were that gross) to the dump because I could no longer bear the sight of them.  I then used half a container of lysol wipes on the fooz ball table (did you know no matter how you try to spell fuz ball, spellcheck thinks it’s wrong, so I still don’t know how to spell it), cabinet doors, counters, window sills, and window seats.   And now every time I walk past the youth rooms, I smile inside (and sometimes outside), though I’m sure no one else even notices the new-found cleanliness and order.

And just to prove how insane I am:  I am really excited that we just got a new supply room built (it was an alcove off the library that looked cluttered and was unsecured when the many outside groups used the building, which made me nervous with some expensive equipment).  I requested a wall and a door that we could lock.  ASK AND YOU SHALL RECEIVE – KNOCK AND THE DOOR SHALL BE OPENED TO YOU (but only if you have a key).   The room has recently been completed (my church peeps are super handy and generous and awesome), and I just smile inside when I see it.  So on Monday, I reorganized the supply closet so that things would be easy for the teachers to find and I threw out some stuff that was too old to be used.  AND I FOUND A WHOLE BOX OF SHARPIES, like 30 of them!  I had been quite distraught thinking that someone had lost them or stolen them and was always frantically looking for sharpies.  But alas, it just fell behind the shelf, and now we have been reunited.  I almost cried a little when I found them because I was just that excited, and pregnant.  You know, you can never have enough sharpies.

Then Tuesday, I spent the whole day in the library trying to reorganize the shelves.  The first organization of the library occurred when I was pregnant with Piglet (hmmmm…I see a pattern).  But in those brief two years, books have been moved and donated and just needed some more order.  It felt so good to cross that item off of my long-term to-do list.  And I smile a little inside when I see the newly organized shelves.

But I guess all this nesting is really a good thing because in a crazy life where I have little control, I can clean and experience brief delusions of control.  And also, the church is at least 10 times more organized now than it was 3.5 years ago due to my chronic OPD and two pregnancies.  Plus, my insides have been smiling a lot, and that can’t be bad.

Hmmm…now what next?

4 Responses

  1. Two words: MY. HOUSE.

  2. you know why I do not comment on your blog a lot, but I have to comment on this. I literally laughed out loud when you talked about sharpies nearly bringing you to tears. Not because I was laughing at you, but because I can visualize it as though I was there when it happened.

    Just wanted to share.

  3. I haven’t diagnosed you with anything. That would take far more expertise.

  4. Nick diagnoses me all the time with something new! Wait until Russ is doing Clinicals…

Leave a Reply

