survivor

I have now survived back to back to back weeks of vacation, VBS, and Montreat at 7-8 months pregnant.  Now it’s onto three days of single motherhood as Russ honkers down for the last few days of studying for the boards.  THEN it’s relaxing and enjoying the calm before the storm.

But for now, I want to take a moment to share a few bits of wisdom I picked up about being 7.5 months pregnant at Montreat.

  1. You must do the modified version of energizers.  I felt like I needed one of those workout videos with the woman in the back doing the modified, AKA easier, version of all of the exercises.  I was afraid that I just might Numa the baby out.
  2. You must walk VERY slowly from point A to B.  Not only do cracks and debris need to be avoided, but walking fast in the mountains leads to lots of pain later.
  3. Naps are a necessity.
  4. Hula-hooping is not possible, even if you were once a hula hooping champion.  Attempting this, however, provides lots of laughter from bystanders.
  5. People are really nice to you when you look like you are about to pop.
  6. Going to bed at 11:30, 12:30, or 1:30 six nights in a row is NOT a good idea.  Especially when you have to be up at 6:30 with a 2.5 year-old and have to get up 4 times a night to pee and have cramps from walking around Montreat (see #2).
  7. Anderson is HOT.  This is almost unbearable.  Fortunately, I found out (thanks to Pops) that they have ice at the desk in the lobby.  Slowly consuming a cup of ice make the experience much better.
  8. The pews which are “older than your grandmother” have a pregnant sitting limit.  After 45 minutes, I had to get up and walk outside to give my back a break.
  9. Montreat at 7.5 months  preggo is much harder than Montreat at 6 months.

People said I was crazy or brave to go this far along in my pregnancy, but I wouldn’t have traded this experience for anything…plus  Montreat weather is much better than Lowcountry weather…not excited to return to 95 and humid today.  ug.

    One Response

    1. I wish we had gotten video of the hula hooping attempt. It WAS quite entertaining:-)

    Leave a Reply

