infant emotion

Piglet

Baby B

Russ insists that when little teeny babies smile that it’s gas, but I am pretty sure it’s more than that.  I read somewhere once that it was from an inward feeling of contentment.  I like that and it makes sense to me.  I love seeing those little sleeping smiles and hearing the sleeping baby chuckles.  Grammy and I have both sat with our cameras glued to our faces trying to catch one on film, but of course those smiles are like a watched pot and it happens as soon as we put the camera away.  I have succeeded only twice (see above).

Our bonus hospital stay confirmed for me that the smiles are related to how the baby feels, not gas.  I realized the day that we got home and saw Baby B smile that he did not have a single sweet sleeping smile the whole time we were in the hospital.  He knew that things weren’t quite right, even at a mere four days old.

My heart broke on our last morning in the hospital.  He was actually awake because he was feeling better, and as he opened his eyes for one of the first times in three days and looked at me, his eyes actually looked scared as they darted around taking in his surroundings.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything so pitiful.  And he was lucky that it was only three days.

I was so relieved to be home and to see his eyes go from scared to happy and content.  I am amazed each day as he gets more and more aware and alert.   Every day he spends more time observing his surroundings, mostly me and the lights.  We’ve had some good talks about life and sung some songs.  He seems really laid back; I can’t wait to get to know him better and discover what kind of personality he will have.

2 Responses

  1. It’s not always gas! Molly smiled early, too.

  2. Hi!

    Your “Infant Emotions” posting came up under “Possibly Related Posts” to the blog I just posted.

    I couldn’t agree more! Gas or no gas, there’s happiness and love behind those smiles. 🙂

    You have lovely babies and a lovely blog.
    -Amy

Leave a Reply

