empathy/sympathy

I’m not really sure which word best describes what happened yesterday morning, but Taylor is just becoming this really awesome kid with one or the other (or both) capabilities.  Yesterday’s post highlighted a very sweet big sister moment in the back of the van.

Then yesterday morning, while I was getting ready for work, she came in the bathroom and caught a glimpse of my gigantic scar in the mirror.  It’s been almost a month since she last asked me to pull my shirt up so she could see my boo boo, so she looked a little surprised by it.  She pointed at the mirror where she saw the image and with a little look of part confusion and part disgust asked “Mommy what’s that?”

It’s my scar, from when I had my surgery to get the cyst out.

Oh.  Is it still sore?

No, it doesn’t hurt anymore.  It’s just a scar.

Oh. pause. Mommy?

Yes, sweetie?

Taylor looks at me with a sincere look of empathy/sympathy/compassion

I’m sorry your tummy was sore.

Thank you.  That’s very sweet.

Mommy, I love you very much.

I love you very much, too.

 

And then I melted into a puddle and had to gather myself again before I could finish getting ready for work.

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for the tears 😉 She’s such a sweet little pea!

  2. Danngit woman! You are KILLING me with these posts!!!!!!!!!! Where are the damn tissues….

Leave a Reply

