Diagnosis

FINALLY!  I have a diagnosis.

I was watching LIVE! with Regis and Kelly when I saw this (starting at 10:09):

And I thought, me too!  Kelly Rippa and I have the same disease:  Misophonia literally “hatred of sound,” is a form of decreased sound tolerance.  It is believed to result from abnormally strong connections between the autonomic and limbic systems in the brain, rather than over-activity in the auditory system.

Unlike hyperacusis, misophonia is specific for certain sounds. Little is known about the anatomical location of the physiological abnormality that causes such symptoms but it is most likely high central nervous system structures.  It is unclear whether misophonia should be classified as a form of sensory processing disorder, which typically involves more than one sensory mode. 

People who have misophonia are most commonly annoyed, or even enraged, by the sound of other people eating, breathing, coughing, or other ordinary sounds.

YES!  I’m not crazy…ok, well I am, but there is a name for my kind of crazy.  Russ used to tell me to get over it when I would tell him that whatever sound he was making needed to cease, but I can’t get over it.  Little noises, especially repetitive noises drive me completely batty.  Like someone cracking their knuckles or repeatedly clicking a pen or tapping their fingers on the table.  Taylor has recently developed this highly annoying habit of constantly making noises with her mouth – sometimes they’re spitty, other times, they’re squeaky….but whatever it sounds like I LOSE MY MIND!  I try to calmly remind myself that it’s just a noise before I calmly remind her to stop making the noises for the 20th time that day.

Just thinking about it is making me grit my teeth.  OH teeth!  When Caleb went through a stage of teeth grinding I thought I might have to give him away.  I’m really glad it was a short-lived stage because I would have really missed that kid.

5 Responses

  1. OMG! Is it hereditary? If so, you got it from me! Popping knuckles, smacking gum, sniffing constantly instead of blowing your nose, and your dad’s new habit….rubbing his fingers together constantly….sounds like someone sanding wood to me!

    • You passed it to me too! The worst two sounds to me are prolonging the opening of a package (it seems like Josh takes FOREVER to open a bag of chips or the Nutrigrain wrappers – please just open quickly and be done with it. I hate the crinkling.) and biting into chips that are too big for one bite (I can’t stand the crunching).

    • Robin – I remember all those dirty looks when someone made sounds eating or chewing gum… 🙂

  2. Leigh Ann totally has the same thing…

  3. LOL!!! I TOTALLY DO!!!! I feel your pain Dorothy.

Leave a Reply

