fickle

Back when it was winter, I could not wait for it to be Spring….to be able to go outside without a coat and gloves…to be able to get in my car in the morning without scraping ice off my windshield.  When Spring finally showed up, I thought “Spring is my favorite season!”  And we went outside every afternoon and played.  I pulled my flip flops back out.  Life was good.  But the love of Spring was quickly followed by the longing for summer and the kiddie pool in the back yard and THE BEACH.  Then when it was warm enough for the pool and the beach and the waterpark, I declared “Summer is my favorite season.”  But then it was hot, with temperatures over 100 for many many days, and I began to long for fall.  When fall arrived, I thought “Fall is surely my most favorite of seasons!”

I mean, with fall comes football, Taylor’s birthday, Halloween, and the fair.  It’s good times.

As fickle as I’ve been with the seasons, I am pretty sure fall is really my favorite season (I know I won’t long for winter).  We’ve had a lot of fun so far this fall.

We’ve had soccer games (Taylor played; Russ coached; I chased Caleb around the field)

Taylor rides her bike every afternoon – it’s getting hard to keep up with her now.

We play in the backyard almost every afternoon as well.  If we don’t, Caleb stands at the backdoor screaming and pointing.

Taylor LOVES doing homework.  If she doesn’t have any, I have to make some up.

And the best thing about fall:  we finally hung my hammock.

There is nothing better than swaying in the hammock while the kids play in the back yard on a crisp fall afternoon.  Nothing.

2 Responses

  1. You are so right! However, I am so anxiously awaiting the appropriate day to set my radio permanently on Christmas music, decorating the tree, and making snow cream (if we get a snow day).

  2. I was just thinking the same thing about fall this morning! Really, what’s not to love?!? Enjoyed all the new posts & pics too 🙂 Can’t believe how grown-up your kids are!

Leave a comment